Ifugao-Nueva Vizcaya Heritage Trip

Luzon is the largest and most populous island in the Philippines. It also refers to one of the three primary island groups in the country, and roughly divided into four sections: Northern, Central and Southern Luzon, and the National Capital Region. Among these, Northern Luzon has the most diverse ethnolinguistic groups such as the Cordillerans of the highlands and Ilocanos of the lowlands.


Cordillera Administrative Region (Ilocano: Rehion/Deppaar Administratibo ti Kordiliera; Tagalog: Rehiyong Pampangasiwaan ng Cordillera), designated as CAR, is an administrative region in the Philippines situated within the island of Luzon. The only landlocked region in the insular country, it is bordered by the Ilocos Region to west and southwest, and by the Cagayan Valley Region to the north, east, and southeast. Highlighted is the province I’ve visited for this trip.

It was June 12 of the year 2016, a national holiday, so I thought a great way to spend Philippine Independence Day was to visit Northern Luzon, especially seeing the famous terraces for the first time. I went to Ohayami Bus Terminal in Sampaloc, Manila to start my journey, as part of my #project81.


Cagayan Valley or Region II is an official administrative region in the Philippines located in the northeastern portion of Luzon Island. It is composed of five Philippine provinces: Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, and Quirino. The region hosts four chartered cities of Cauayan, Ilagan, Santiago, and Tuguegarao. Highlighted is the province I’ve visited for this trip.

I have visited some parts of Ilocos Region and Cagayan Valley before so this will be my first time to visit Ifugao and neighboring province of Nueva Vizcaya. Hence, my itinerary became Ifugao-Nueva Vizcaya Heritage Trip! Presenting my itinerary below with Banaue (home of famous rice terraces) as entry and Dupax del Sur (home of national cultural treasure church) as exit point:


My Ifugao-Nueva Vizcaya Heritage Trip Travel Map doing southward route from Banaue, Ifugao.


📍Ifugao Provincial Capitol
📍Ifugao Rice Terraces declared as a National Cultural Treasure
📍Banaue View Point
📍Banaue Municipal Hall
📍Immaculate Conception Parish Church
📍Banaue Museum
📍Lagawe Municipal Hall
📍Lagawe Town Plaza
📍St. Mary Magdalene Parish Church
📍Kiangan Municipal Hall
📍St. Joseph Parish Church
📍Ifugao Museum
📍Kiangan National Shrine declared as a National Landmark

CAGAYAN VALLEY designated as Region II
Nueva Vizcaya
📍Nueva Vizcaya Provincial Capitol
📍Bagabag Municipal Hall
📍Saint Jerome Parish Church
📍Bagabag Bell Tower Ruins
📍Solano Municipal Hall
📍St. Louis Beltran Church
📍St. Louis Beltran Bell Tower and Black Nazarene Shrine also called Quiapo of the North
📍Bayombong Municipal Hall
📍Saint Dominic Cathedral
📍The People’s Museum and Library (Old Provincial Capitol)
📍Bambang Municipal Hall
📍St. Catherine of Sienna Parish Church
📍Aritao Municipal Hall
📍St. Joseph Parish Church
📍Dupax del Sur Municipal Hall
📍Parish Church of San Vicente Ferrer declared as a National Cultural Treasure
📍Old Dampol Bridge declared as a National Cultural Treasure
📍Old Flagpole


1 thought on “Ifugao-Nueva Vizcaya Heritage Trip

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close